6 Comments

I've only been to two conferences. They were more geared toward helping writers navigate the publishing world, including pitching their books to agents. I didn't have the best luck pitching my book in person (apparently agents don't like it when you correct them ;-) but I did get my agent via a conference. He was a panelist and contacted me afterward based on the description of my book with my bio in the conference program. My book wasn't really ready for prime time yet, and I was at the conference more out of curiosity than anything, so even though it didn't end up getting published, it was a big boost of confidence. Overall, I'd say it was a worthwhile experience if for nothing else than forcing me to stand face-to-face with people in the industry and justify my book--either have the conviction and confidence to stand by it or fail to. I think that was a make or break moment for me as a fiction writer.

Expand full comment

Haven't attended any conferences, but I did do ProWriting Aid's Fantasy Writers Week, which is sort of an online conference, where I got the inspiration to make a substack. I like being able to talk about writing with people.

At this point I'm tired of writing advice more than anything else. No more books or talks on writing, I just want to write.

Expand full comment